Make Grow Gather. Or Not!

Kelly Wilkinson teaching how to make leaf prints

Kelly Wilkinson teaching how to make leaf prints (Photo credit: homegrowndotorg)

One of my delights is going to the library and checking out all the new cooking and crafts books. I take these freshly pressed volumes home filled with ambition to cook and to do.  Mostly, however, I just look and dream. One recent find is  Weekend Handmade by Kelly Wilkinson. Her colorful book is filled with amiable & accessible projects requiring merely a few hours or a couple of days. But before I got too deeply immersed or lifted a single brush or glue gun, I read the book jacket bio and found she’s an S.F. blogger with this book an offshoot.

Well, I jumped from kitchen table to the computer and checked out her blog Make Grow Gather . And before I knew it, I was deep into Kelly’s creative life and process. I read her post about last week’s Maker Faire in San Mateo, the uber festival of creative DIYers. Not only is Kelly a successful, published author…but she started another creative venture: Creativebug. So off to there I linked.

Creativebug offers the delicious promise of “all you can make for $25/month.” It’s a site filled with videos by talented crafters and needleworkers.” How can you resist a search bar that asks you “what do you want to make today.” And so I read about some of the talented artisans they recruited and viewed their portfolios and videos (Check out Jenny Doh’s Fish Mobile). Yes, these are, indeed, makers of things. I wish them huge success. I just don’t think I’ll be signing up.

The sad truth is I spent all my creative free time this morning reading about Kelly Wilkinson’s book, blog and website and her amazing coterie of fellow creativistas. I spent my morning not making, not growing, not gathering. All I have to show for my time is this crummy little post.

But maybe you’ll do better. Maybe you’ll click on one of these links and be inspired to start a project or shake loose a passion. If you do, please tell me. I’d feel like I accomplished something!

About nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.
This entry was posted in Art +, books, creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

