Fog-wrapped gifts

The first Sunday morning group walk of the year. At least I thought it would be. Raced out of my warm bed to meet my friends at the fog-shrouded Bay. But no one was there. Missed signals (emails/calls)  but I decided to stay.

There was an amazing high tide, almost overflowing the banks after days/weeks of rain. Silver fog draped over the East Bay Mountains and encircled planes elevating from SFO.  I took out my Android and shot some pix of Benihana Restaurant which looked like a silent Shinto Shrine on a Kyoto shore. Another photo of seabirds snuggling against the breakwall. By myself, I walked faster than our normal chat-filled pace, noticing sea and sky and the shifting shades of grey as fog lifted and dropped like a theatrical curtain.  Alone, I listened to my inner voice, enjoyed my solo company and was reminded how lovely a private walk could be.

We are so afraid to be alone with ourselves. I could have used my cell to chat with distant friends or family or gotten back in my car and gone to the gym instead. But I chose “the road not taken” (at least this Sunday) and was all the richer for it. I’m grateful for the missed connection and my fog-wrapped gift. Next Sunday is soon enough for resuming our group rendezvous along the morning shore.

About nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.
This entry was posted in creativity, Random Stuff, Relationships, Soul, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

