Great chocolates I’ve known and loved:#10 semisweet chocolate chips

Semi-sweet chocolate chips
Image via Wikipedia

semisweet chocolate chips are the source code for great chocolate chip cookies. I have tried them all: Nestle Toll House, Hershey’s, Guittard, Trader Joe’s etc. As long as the chips are made with real semisweet chocolate, they make great cookies. Some are more melty, some more sweet or dark, it doesn’t matter to me. What matters is quantity. The more chips in the cookie, the better the cookie! I grew up on Nabisco Chips Ahoy! cookies and thought they were the greatest until I actually tasted fresh baked cookies. There is no comparison.

There is just one problem with baking chocolate chip cookies. You must always have a bag of chips lying around your house. Very difficult! I find myself grabbing handfuls of chips at odd hours and letting them melt in my mouth whenever I need a little sweet treat. So, there’s rarely a full bag for baking and I must restock, which means I get to eat every chip in the already opened bag. It’s a tough job but I am up for the challenge.

Chocolate blogger shoutout of the day: Deliciously Organic. Carrie Vitt’s blog isn’t strictly about desserts but about cooking and eating wonderful healthy food in the company of friends and family. I love her writing style and, apparently, so do many others as she has a new book out called (what else) Delicously Organic. Here’s a sample of her dessert aesthetic, a recipe for Chocolate Stout Cake.

Published by

nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.

Leave a Reply

