Almond milk. Soy milk. Rice Milk. Can’t I just drink milk?

It’s not terribly PC of me but I need real milk with my coffee.  My husband needs real milk with his cookies. I’m willing to pour a milk substitute into my cereal where its odd taste mixes with all the other odd flavors of fiber-rich, whole grain cereals. But there are times that only moo juicewill do.

Got Milk? was a great advertising campaign because it made the emotional connection with people’s lives. Hot milk at night to help you sleep. Hot chocolate on a cold winter’s day. Cold milk with treats on any day. It’s as American as apple pie (and goes so well with it, too!).

I just bought some Almond Milk at Whole Foods today and will try it in my multi-grain cereal tomorrow. My cholesterol is going through the roof and if this keeps the roof on, then I will swap it out. I will be a big girl and try it. But for my coffee–I’m sticking with real milk.  Not gonna give that up and you can’t make me.

Published by

nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.

Leave a Reply

