April is National Poetry Month & I’m 25% thru the WordPress pledge. Time for a rhyme!

sky day 269
Image by maureen_sill via Flickr

National Poetry Month – wherefore I celebrate completing 1/4 of the postaday2011 pledge.

Ode to Spring, the Economy and Blogging

Late sun gleaming on the glass
Bird song issues from the grass
I am sitting on my ass
Writing a poem.

The rains have taken a shallow breath
The wind is just a soft caress
Winter seems quite close to death
And I am writing a poem

This year has started mighty hard
Slush in the market, slush in my yard
The economy hasn’t played its final card
And I am writing a poem

I haven’t written poetry since leaving school
Didn’t miss it, wasn’t cool
Yet rhymes unprompted want to rule
As I sit writing a poem

At the moment the house is still
Haven’t made dinner, don’t know if I will
He’s upstairs paying bill after bill
And I’m down here writing a poem

When I began this blogging road
It triggered my brain, it served as a goad
It brought forth stuff, yet lightened my load
Sitting and writing a poem

Published by

nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.

Leave a Reply

