From morning person to midnight rambler. Night sweats 1. Sleep 0

I used to be a morning person. Rose early, jumped out of bed. Completed a vigorous morning walk before I even woke the kids for school. Those days are long gone.

The mid-life years  of night sweats and bouts of hormonal insomnia have changed my biorhythms for good.  These days, I may fall asleep quickly but I don’t stay that way.  In a few hours, my inner furnace cranks up, waking me in a dazed sweat.

Many times, I don’t fall back to sleep until 5 a.m.  I may go to bed before 11 p.m. every night but I’m virtually always up some period between 1-5 a.m. — sometimes for the whole 4 hours! It’s too late for Ambien, too early for rising.

Thanks to my trusty iPad, I can read in bed without waking my partner. Flipboard & Zite– my addictive, personalized online magazines — and downloaded e-books are my nighttime consorts as I wait out the overheated hours.  During those hours, I constantly flip the pillows to the “cool” side, pull back the covers to a bare sheet and generally fidget until, finally, my body temperature drops and my brain drifts back to sleep.

And before I know it, it’s 8 a.m. and I must instantly shake off my grogginess and jump into life. Of course, I’m glad to be awake. I’m glad to be alive. But I’m not a morning person anymore. No more pre-dawn walks before the rest of the house rustles awake.

And while I am able to dress and drive to work without incident (am functioning on auto pilot apparently), I must have coffee the minute I arrive at work to re-attach my  my brain to my body. Everyone knows that I am useless and cranky if I don’t get my java jolt. And then I am perfect again (tho there will be some debate about my choice of words here).

“To sleep, perchance to dream. Ay, there’s the rub.” Shakespeare had that right!

Published by

nobluehair

A lifetime of love, family, friends, work and play and I'm just getting started. Growing better every day with gratitude, attitude and reckless hope and humor. At least, that's where I'm aiming.

Leave a Reply

